Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Until Proven (1)

As this novel progresses, I’m encountering situations that even a person with the least amount of legal background would find unjust. For example:

Unjust is when the one who is accused is doing more work on the case than those doing the accusing or those who are supposed to be defending.

You’d be hard pressed to find anyone who wants to enter into a criminal trial and risk negative judicial action against them. But, at a certain point, the risk of the outcome is better than sitting around waiting for something to happen. Unjust is when the one who is accused is doing more work on the case than those doing the accusing or those who are supposed to be defending.

This is presently my situation. Over 15 months ago, I was accused of a pretty dastardly thing. I maintain my innocence as I have since the beginning. Of course, as the process goes, the case was thoroughly publicized, bringing an end to my once-robust reputation. Unjust is when the agency that accused a person in the first place has lost interest in moving forward.

As a result of the case, other agencies began embedding themselves in the life of my family. Fifteen months later, those same organizations that were once bullying me into submitting to intimidating and arbitrary practices, have begun to ignore me. Still, I am trying to move on with my life. Unjust is when the agency that was once in control of dictating a family’s movements – an organization that (under the guise of insisting they were there to help) brought ruination to a family already seeking normalcy – has all but abandoned them.

Even the person assigned to defend me has chosen to again ignore the case. More than 90 days have transpired since I last heard from my advocate. Calls and letters go without reply, promises of progress go unmet, and dates of expected action pass by without attention. I am the only one looking at a potentially disastrous negative outcome, so I continues to take care of the necessary elements on my own. Unjust is the lawyer who is disinterested and apathetic.

Unjust are those who realize that they ruined the life of an innocent person, and choose instead to take a Vow of Indifference.

I maintain my innocence because…well…I am innocent. It’s obvious now that there are other involved parties who feel the same, yet they refuse to admit it or dismiss the situation. Even so; almost a year and a half has passed, and (even if I wanted to) I am unable to begin rebuilding my reputation. Unjust are the people who level accusations, then become unresponsive in order to save face because they now have something to lose.

In reality, my family and I are the only ones with anything to lose. The others involved who do not support me are content with considering the effects on our family to be irrelevant. Unjust are those who realize that they ruined the life of an innocent person, and choose instead to take a Vow of Indifference.

(Update (4/8/2016): I’ve been told that my case hasn’t moved because it is low priority and will be dismissed.)

