Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

And-the-horse-you-rode-in-on...Last Sunday I told you that some significant life changes have altered how I’ve been writing. Things have gotten in the way of that one very important passion that has long defined who I am. It sucks. Fortunately, though, writing doesn’t come in a one-size-fits-all style. We all know that, when poetry isn’t working, we can pen a short story. When novels aren’t our thing, there’s always copywriting. And so on.

I’m not working a 9-5 anymore (not by choice, I assure you), so, as I said in last week’s post, writing can’t be something I simply find time for. I no longer have a choice but to make it lucrative for me. We all know that’s not always possible. Not doing things the way we want to, necessarily, that is. Unless one is willing to take a less traditional route. I’m certainly willing to experiment, even when that means doing things others might be squeamish about. Especially when my kids might be looking for supper (who knew they needed to eat every day?!)

Back in 1999 or so, I had the tongue-in-cheek idea of creating some irreverent cards; cards you wouldn’t exactly send to mom for her birthday, or to your sweetheart on your One Monthiverssary. I hand drew and worded some cards that, instead, were meant for a boss you despised, an ex-spouse, or an annoying neighbor. They wouldn’t necessarily make you better friends, and were not meant to heal any rifts. Even though I had mocked up a couple dozen or so different styles, I had three things working against me: 1) This was before the Interwebz were what they are today; 2) No one I approached (Hallmark, Spencer Gifts, Unicorn) was interested in jokey cards that could potentially insult or foster animosity; and 3) I didn’t want anyone to dislike me.

Well, this is 2015. You can now find nearly anything online. And I mean anything. So, that’s one hurdle navigated. And, since, with the Internet, anyone can set up a store, marketing is no longer an obstacle. That just leaves peoples’ impressions of me. With my kids needing that whole “nutritional intake” thing, I’m willing to sell a little bit of myself in order to make that happen.

With that, I decided to go ahead and roll out Athyrio Cards. Athyrio (And The Horse You Rode In On) is a chance for me to write and still make some money. It surely is not traditional; hell, it’s quite possibly as far from that as I’ve ever been. But people like irreverence. They like animosity. I even think there are some out there who would like to stick it to somebody a tiny bit. Of course, these cards are for fun and are not meant to be used to harm others; I hope people will simply see the humor in these gems.

Will they sell? I hope so, but I won’t know for a while. Have I pushed the envelope too much? Only you, the individual viewer, can make that determination. Check out the site and let me know what you think. Then stop back here and comment. If you like the site, share this post, and the link to the site. If not, feel free to come back here and tell me about it. I encourage all opinions. I moderate comments, but only to weed out spam and trolls. Otherwise, I encourage conversation.

The shopping page isn’t but about half completed. It takes a while to populate product into an online store. But, there’s enough there for you to get an idea of the site’s flavor. Please let me know what you honestly think.

www.athyriocards.com

