Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

StudentBranding.com

A month ago I talked about making a career out of writing later in life (here’s that article). Since my “resurgence” I’ve submitted a couple of short stories to a few of the innumerable literary mags out there, both online and in print.

Today became the first step on that journey to becoming a legitimate writer. I received an email that graciously states, “Dear Jon Gilbert, Thank you for sending us ‘So Much Mightier’. We appreciate the chance to read it. Unfortunately, the piece is not for us. This does not necessarily reflect the quality of your work, but, more so, the large number of submissions we have received. Thanks again. Best of luck with this. Sincerely…”

Rejections are so much a part of the process of writing, and an actual response is a welcome and rare bonus. The writer says right in the body that this particular LitMag has tons of submissions. To comment personally (even if this might be a form letter) is appreciated (but never expected).

I expect many more of these…more of these than of the acceptance kind. I’ve gotten them before and I’ll get them again. To paraphrase: this isn’t a failure; it’s just one place I didn’t succeed. I have more stories, and I’ve submitted this one to multiple literary magazines. In fact, I’m working on a 2,500-3,000 word story now, one I’ve completed, but it needs serious surgery.

When that one falls into the “accepted” pile, I expect it, too, will have plenty of rejections to cushion its fall!

Please Leave a Comment with your rejection or acceptance stories.

Thanks!

